When you upgrade your account to pay-as-you-go pricing, any free credit you have remaining will still be available for the full 30 days after you started your free account.
There is nothing to lose if you upgrade early. When you upgrade, you get to keep building with free products.
Beyond the free amounts, you only pay for what you use each month. You can cancel any time.