When a role is deleted, its bindings remain, but are inactive.
You can undelete a role within 7 days. During this 7 day period, the role will show as Deleted in the GCP Console, and will not appear in programmatic listcommands (unless showDeleted is set in the request).
After 7 days, the role is scheduled for permanent deletion. This process takes 30 days. During the 30 day window, the role and all associated bindings are permanently removed, and you cannot create a new role with the same role ID.
After the role has been permanently deleted, 37 days after the initial deletion request, you can create a new role using the same role ID.