PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (14 Blogs) Become a Certified Professional

Introduction to Agile Domain Areas

Last updated on Apr 28,2020 4.1K Views

Agile Project Practitioners, while working on a project in an agile environment engage in a number of tasks. These tasks are divided into 6 agile domain areas and 3 levels of practice, knowledge of which is essential for Agile Certification.

Domain 1 – Value Driven Delivery

Talking about Value Driven Delivery, it means how you can add value to your client, how you can increase the ROI of the client, how you can show him that the money that he has invested in being utilized properly. The output or outcome for that investment would be good enough. Thus, this domain is called Value Driven Delivery. The three main tasks involved in it are:

  • Define Positive Value- Defining the positive value and determining how it has to be delivered to the client
  • Incremental Development- Focus on the continuous incremental development of the project
  • Prioritization- Doing prioritization as a team and with the help of the product owner

Domain 2 – Stakeholder Engagement

  • Understanding what exactly your client needs are
  • Understanding the expectations and acceptance criteria of the client
  • Understanding the kind of product client is looking for

Domain 3 – Bolstering Team Performance Practices

It talks about:

  • How you can help your team be empowered,
  • How you can build faith and trust in them that whatever they are doing would be valued.
  • How they can raise their voices
  • How they can be assured that whatever concerns they have will be answered.
  • The formation of team
  • Empowerment of the team
  • Collaborate with the team members

Domain 4 – Adaptive Planning

One of the biggest myths associated with Agile is that there is no planning involved in it, which is absolutely junk, as planning is an essential part of Agile Methodology.

  • Levels of Planning: There are 3 levels of planning, based on the way you plan
  • Adaptation: Based on the outcomes of 3 levels of planning, how you adapt yourself
  • Estimation: How you estimate the work in terms of time, cost, and other variables
  • Velocity/throughput/cycle time: how you determine what would be the velocity, or output, and what is that your team is able to produce within the given time-frame.

Domain 5 – Problem Detection and Resolution

This domain talks about how you can manage your risks, how you can mitigate them, how you can find a solution to them, and what are the best ways to detect your risks as early as possible.

It mainly involves the following tasks:

  • Understanding the Problem Statement
  • Problem Categorization
  • Problem Investigation
  • Problem Solution

Domain 6 – Continuous Improvement (Product, Process, People)

Agile does not state, once the processes have been set up, they should be followed the same way. Instead, it suggests inspection of processes every now and then and adapt from the learning of ongoing processes. This domain involves:

  • Continuous integration
  • Continuous improvement of the processes
  • Retrospection with the team as to what went well or what went wrong
  • Getting feedback in various ways, so that the teams improve continuously

Related Posts

Introduction to PMI-ACP®

How Valuable is PMI-ACP® to your Career?

Agile Methodology and Importance of PMI-ACP®

Start preparing for PMI-ACP®Certification


Join the discussion

Browse Categories

webinar_success Thank you for registering Join Edureka Meetup community for 100+ Free Webinars each month JOIN MEETUP GROUP

Subscribe to our Newsletter, and get personalized recommendations.

image not found!
image not found!

Introduction to Agile Domain Areas